Why Do People Criticize The Twilight Saga?

Okay, personally you won’t find anyone that is as obsessive as me when it comes to Twilight, having read all of the books more than six times each, collecting posters and ALMOST got a chance to be in New Moon, at the filming scene in Volterra in italy, but i wasn’t able to 😦

Anyway, something that truly bothers me is why do people criticize the love story of Bella and Edward? When I ask them why, they just say “I don’t know, i just do.. what’s up with a vampire dude like an expressionless girl?”.. Seriously?      I mean, it’s just a story, written by an author that has brought any girl’s ideal boyfriend to life. I mean, I remember when I was young, I used to fantasize about marrying a guy who is super natural.. like Edward.. looks,  personality.. basically everything! So it’s natural for girls to be addicted to the stories and movies.

“Isabella Swan? I promise to love you forever — every single day of forever. Will you marry me?”

Edward Cullen, Eclipse, Chapter 20, p.460

Now, I don’t know if the people who judge are either guys who are jealous of Edward because of how ridiculous girls are becoming obsessive over him and Jacob, or is it girls that are trying to deny the fact that there isn’t a true love story like this : having a guy writing musical pieces for you, overly protective, charming, good looking, perfect in EVERY way possible.. well, I kind of agree that there isn’t a guy like that ever, however, it doesn’t mean that you should stop dreaming of a guy like Edward, cause when you fall in love, it becomes blind, and he’ll be perfect in your eyes.. even his flaws turn into perfection to you.. And guys, instead of judging a non existent character, just watch and learn.

“Bella, I couldn’t live with myself if I ever hurt you. You don’t know how it’s tortured me. The thought of you, still, white, cold… to never see you blush scarlet again, to never see that flash of intuition in your eyes when you see through my pretenses… it would be unendurable. You are the most important thing to me now. The most important thing to me ever.”

Edward Cullen, Twilight, Chapter 13, p.274

Any woman in the world would want a man that she knows that she won’t be able to live without, and that man has to treat her right, and by that I mean the ideas of cheating, fighting, not being a gentle man and all that shouldn’t even be considered twice. Women are very fine and delicate beings, we rely on our feelings like how we rely on air to breathe. I’m not saying that we need to hear you saying “I love you” every five minutes, but Actions speak louder than words, and the reason why we love the Twilight Saga so much is that the way that Edward treats Bella is the way that any woman would want to be treated, and we would do anything to have a guy like that.

“Do you really have any idea how important you are to me? Any concept at all of how much I love you?”

Edward Cullen, Eclipse, Chapter 1, p.34

Leave a Reply

