The 6 Most Mysterious/Strange Places on the Planet.

I was researching something over the internet, and I have coincidentally come through very strange places that you can find on earth. Honestly, some scared me, well .. a little. Anyway, I decided to research them and write an article about it. Hope you guys find it interesting, I honestly didn’t know such things actually existed! You’ll be amazed.

Strange Places - Blue Hole Bahamas

This is called “The Great Blue Hole”, it’s located in the Bahamas, It is about 60 miles east from the mainland of Belize City. They are deep circular cavities known as Blue Holes which are often the entrances to cave networks, some of them up to 14 kilometres in length.    If I dared you to swim across that, will you say yes? I surely wouldn’t!

Spotted Lake

That’s “The Spotted Lake” , it’s located in Osooyos, British Columbia. I’ts a saline endorheic alkali lake, during the summer, most of the water evaporates, leaving all the minerals behind.  The Large ‘spots’ on the lake appear,  and depending on the mineral composition at the time, the spots will be different colors. The spots are made mainly of magnesium sulfate, which crystallizes in the summer. Since in the summer, only the minerals in the lake remain, they harden to form natural “walkways” around and between the spots. The first thing that comes in my head when I first read about this “Alien” !

Strange Places - The Eye of Africa

“The Eye of Africa” is located in the Sahara Desert in Mauritania. It really scared me because it looks like a pupil; after reading several things on it, i have come to a conclusion that the reason it’s shaped like that is due to “shaped symmetrical uplifting of underlying geology now made visible by millennia of erosion” as the source says.

This is the “Dry Valley” in Antarctica; I personally didn’t know that Antarctica had a dry area, apparently I was wrong; In fact, It’s the only area in Antarctica where it doesn’t snow. ; The valley’s floor occasionally contains a perennially frozen lake with ice several meters thick. Even though it’s this thick, I don’t think I will have the guts to stand on it.

“Vale da Lua”, is located in Brazil, it’s basically one of the oldest water eroded rock formations on the planet, it’s made of quartz and crystals! I think I’ll be taking the next plane to Brazil and check this place out!

The Stone Forest, or the “Shilin” (Stone Forest in Chinese)  are rocks that are made of limestone and are formed by water percolating the ground’s surface and eroding away everything but the pillars. This is pure beauty.

There are several other things I’ve found, but these were by farthest the most interesting, I’ll try and write another article about it!

6 thoughts on “The 6 Most Mysterious/Strange Places on the Planet.

  1. I had heard of three of these places, but the others are fascinating, especially the eye of Africa… I want to visit. If you were to extend it to seven places I would say you could add the salt flats and coloured lakes of southwest Bolivia. They are literally breathtaking!

    1. Yeah I wanted to put that one, but I’m currently living in Alexandria, Egypt, and there are lot’s of colored lakes and salt flats, so I thought of putting something new
      Thanks for passing by!

  2. I would totally swim across the great blue hole if dared to, but thats partially because I find it incredibly difficult to wimp out on a dare haha. This is a very cool post, I’ve only actually seen a few of these before. Thanks for sharing!

    p.s. – the last 3 images wont load. Is anyone else having the problem, or is it just my crappy computer?

    – Nate

    1. hahaha I honestly would be scared to swim across because I have this phobia of sharks!
      My internet is loading them just fine, trying refreshing the page, maybe it’ll work 😀

Leave a Reply

